finding happiness outside of my passion

This blog will (hopefully) just be a quick jot on the topic of the week: Joy, Happiness, and Fun

As a very passionate and proud Pre-K teacher, I do not have any trouble finding happiness, joy, and fun in my job and in the learning journey I share with my “littles.” However, in a small town school, we only have one class of Pre-K (in the morning), which leaves the afternoon part of my job: teaching classes in other elementary grades so that their homeroom teachers can have their prep time.

I take pride in the fact that I am giving other teachers precious prep time, but I have to be honest in saying that I don’t find the same amount of joy and happiness in this aspect of my job (which, as one of those “born-to-be-a-teacher” types, bothers me).

Next year, I have Grades 4, 5, 6, and Kindergarten on my plate, which altogether will be about 130 students who I see for just a small portion of their week. The most difficult part of this, for me, is not having enough time together to form relationships with each student.

As an optimist through-and-through, I don’t want to go into the year feeling flat during my afternoons (who wants to feel drained and without passion?). So I am aiming to think of small ways to develop relationships with my prep students and build in more of those golden teaching moments where you can truly enjoy the students. Darting from classroom to classroom definitely makes this a challenge, and the limited amount of time I have with each class isn’t ideal, either, but I am determined to bring some happiness, joy, and fun into these classes (for both myself any my students).

I hope to save 10 or 15 minutes each week to have sharing time, so that we can discuss important or exciting things going on in our lives as a learning community. I truly believe that investing some of my instruction time into getting to know the students will serve me in the long run! After all, classroom management has to begin with respect and relationships.

Do you have any quick/easy ways of building relationships with students that you could share? I would love to hear your suggestions!

Until next time,

-KKF

Leave a Reply

